Delivering an online lecture

AVIEW 10-030

What you need to know

In alfaview there are two roles: moderators and participants.
As a moderator you have additional functions compared to a participant of an online lecture, which support you in the organization.
To use these functions, you must display the list of participants in a meeting (see Step 1).
For example, you can then...

... change your own settings (see Step 2)
... temporarily extend/restrict participant rights (see Steps 3-6)
... contact groups and participants via (private) chat (see Steps 7-8)
... save the chat history (see Step 9)

You automatically receive moderator rights by calling up the room via
"rooms.hs-furtwangen.de" and calling up the room in the room overview via the green "Enter room" button .

The starting point is an existing connection to an online lecture room, i.e. you have selected a free room of your faculty, entered it and there are already participants in it.

What you have to do

  1. Display participants list to perform moderator functions.
    You can see the functions of a moderator shown in Steps 3 to 7 using the participants list.

    • First, bring up the list of participants. To do this, click on the icon in the menu bar with the two people shown ().

    • Hover the mouse cursor over yourself or the name of the participant in question in the list of participants to be able to carry out certain functions (see the following steps).

  2. I would like to change my own microphone, video image or similar settings

    • For example, you can disable your video image (without reducing the bandwidth) behind your own name in the participants list.

    • For more information on editing personal settings such as sound recording, video image transmission, and other options, see Helpcard 10-020.

  3. I would like to highlight a participant (assign VIP rights)
    Move the mouse pointer over the name of the participant in the participant list () .

    • Then click on the star icon to activate the VIP rights for the participant.

    • The participant now has VIP rights. (Visually recognizable by the blue coloured star icon:  )

    • With VIP rights the participant will be highlighted: the video will be placed on the first position of the video order.
      With VIP rights the video image is also a better quality.

    • Deactivate the VIP status in the same way if you do not want the participant display to be enlarged anymore.

  4. I would like to control the sound recording of a participant
    Move the mouse pointer over the name of the participant in the participant list .

    • Then click on the microphone icon to deactivate the microphone recording.

    • Sound recording is deactivated for the selected participant. (Visually recognizable by the crossed-out, red-colored microphone icon:  )

    • Participants cannot regain the "microphone right" on their own. If necessary, you must grant the participants the right again by clicking on the icon again.

  5. I want to control the video image of a participant
    Move the mouse pointer over the name of the particular participant in the participant list .

    • Then click on the camera icon to deactivate the video image.

    • The video image is removed for the selected participant. (Visually recognizable by the crossed-out, red-colored icon:  )

    • Participants cannot independently regain the right to stream their own video image. If necessary, you must grant the participants the right again by clicking on the icon again.

  6. I would like to deactivate screen transmission for a participant
    Move the mouse pointer over the name of the corresponding participant in the
    participant list .

    • Click on the three vertical points and deactivate the "Allow screen sharing" option.

    • For more information on how to use the Share Area feature, see Helpcard 10-040.

  7. I would like to contact participants in the group rooms (for example, to distribute a task for group work, to "bring back" groups)
    With this function you can send a message to one or all groups in a room - regardless of whether you are in the main room yourself or in one of the groups.
    First, we will describe how you can write a message to all groups.

    • Click the three vertical dots () after the name of the main room.

    • Two options open up.

    • Select the "Short messages to all groups" option to contact all groups.

    • Send a message.

    • If the message is sent successfully, you will receive a confirmation message (see Fig. 5.2). In figure 5.3 you can see the student view.

    • To contact only a single group, search for the group in question and click there.
      Then select "Short message to this group".

  8. I would like to contact an individual participant directly
    Whether you are in the main room or in a group in a room, you can chat with individual participants.
    This function also allows participants to contact you, for example, to show they want to talk to you.

    • In the list of participants () move the mouse pointer over the name of the participant in question.

    • Click on the icon.

    • You can now select "Write short message".

    • You will receive confirmation when the message has been sent.

  9. I want to export the chat history
    Right-click on the chat history (mobile version: double-tap) to copy it.

Problems or questions?

IMZ | Learning Services
Your contact for innovative teaching

FU C1.10 | VS C1.01 | TUT A3.04

Log a support request with the Service Desk under "Alfaview" at servicedesk.hs-furtwangen.de.