What you need to know
In BigBlueButton it is possible to chat with all participants - either publicly or privately.
Furthermore, by means of the "shared notes" a text file (e.g. minutes) can be created and exported together.
By setting status icons, for example, a request to speak ("raise hand") or a reaction such as approval ("thumbs up") can be indicated.
Chat histories and shared notes are not stored by BigBlueButton. After leaving the room, this data is deleted, so you have to save it if is needed.
What you have to do
The public and private chat is enabled by default. If you want to deactivate it, you can find the instructions here: Helpcard 10-005 (Step 3).
If you want to hide the chat (by clicking on the chat window in the upper left corner), but still want to be alerted to notifications, you can install the following setting: in the meeting room, click on the three vertical dots in the top right corner and open the settings. Activate audio and/or popup alerts for chat.
You will be notified of new chat messages with a sound and/or a popup.
The "shared notes" are enabled by default. If you want to deactivate them, you can find the instructions here: HelpCard 10-005 (Step 3).
Saving the "shared notes": within the shared notes, click on the last icon on the far right (down arrow). You can export the notes to various formats (e.g. PDF, HTML, Word).
To set a status, each person can click on his icon and make a selection under "Set status".
The selection made then appears within the icon.
For example, if a user raises their hand, they will move up the list of users.